Regear and Lockers

saf98tj
BSJ 101 Planning Commitee
Jeep Year: 1998
Jeep Model: TJ Wrangler

Regear and Lockers

Unread post by saf98tj »

Just want to get some opinions as I am a bit new to this. My rear ring gear and spider gears are damaged. I figured this is a good time to regear from 3.73's to 4.56 for my 33" tires. I also plan to swap out my limited slip diff to a selectable locker. I need a new carrier anyways. The OX locker was recommended to me and this is what I will likely go with. I am trying to decide what to do with the front. I am not sure I want to spend the money on the ox for the front for the amount of wheeling I do and am leaning towards an automatic locker or just leaving it open. I don't really drive the jeep in the snow and ice so I think the automatic would be ok. Would having the OX in the rear and an Aussie in the front be a decent setup for the trails the club runs? Is the Aussie loud on the road in 2wd? Should I bite the bullet and put ox lockers on both ends?

Thanks

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Frank
Frankie BSJ Member
Jeep Year: 1974
Jeep Model: CJ5

Re: Regear and Lockers

Unread post by Frank »

Dude : The selectable in the rear is a great choice. Almost any brand will be reliable and worth the investment . For the front , let me suggest not putting in an automatic locker. Even though you have it in 2 wd the axle is still rotating and the locker will still activate . It will have steering quirks as it locks and unlocks. If it were me Id look at doing a Detroit True-Trac . Its a limited slip gear drive with the highest bias ratio . You wont even know its in there on the street but on a trail with one wheel in the air it will still move the other wheel like a locker but it can differentiate on any turn without any bind whatsoever . I started with that one and recommend it to anyone asking. Best part is there are no clutch plates to ever wear out. If you find in the future you need a locker then get one. Good luck . FjR68
saf98tj