Regearing my Rubi

ArticRubi
BSJ 101 Planning Commitee
Jeep Year: 2008
Jeep Model: JK Wrangler

Regearing my Rubi

Unread post by ArticRubi »

So I have a project tentatively scheduled for the end of October, but the truth is, it is definitely over my head. I am upgrading to 35" tires with my 3.5" lift, so I'm regearing to 4.88. I picked up the 4.88 ring and pinion set, and also got the rebuild kit for both front and rear. I really don't want to pay a shop to do this, I would much rather get some help (or more accurately, be the helper) on this project. I am assuming that getting involved in a project like this it would be a good idea to get a service tech's manual for my Jeep. I have a lot of professional experience in troubleshooting and installing complex electromechanical equipment, and I'm a quick study. Sooooo.....any volunteers?

Thanks for the consideration guys,
Duncan
ZAEDOCK
BSJ Member
Jeep Year: 1992
Jeep Model: YJ Wrangler

Re: Regearing my Rubi

Unread post by ZAEDOCK »

It will be a heck of a lot easier to either remove the axles or get a lift. Some of the guys here go to "You do it" (<-or something) in Nashua NH where they have tech days including access to a lift. Setting up axle gears is more art then science, but Dana 44's are pretty straight forward and have been around since dirt.
Carl McFly wrote:X2, I agree with Joe. And not just because he's man candy
BSJ President 2003 - 2005
Hoodoo Man
Jeep Year: 1970
Jeep Model: C101

Unread post by Hoodoo Man »

Is this a 2012? May want to wait if so as the after market support for the 12s has not caught up yet and new gears will put you into limp mode. May have resolved it already...
ZAEDOCK
BSJ Member

Unread post by ZAEDOCK »

Yep, found this:

http://www.jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=58684

Looks like it's the ESP and ABS junk that gets affected due to the new tranny.