Rocker steps on or off?

You can talk about anything here
mikepa
BSJ Member
Jeep Year: 2018
Jeep Model: JL Wrangler

Rocker steps on or off?

Unread post by mikepa »

Morning folks. Newbie here looking for advise to maximize protection and minimize parts removal before or during my first "try before you buy" trail run in just over a week.

As part of my JLUR build, I purchased rock rails from MetalCloak which come with steps that can be installed three ways: 1. Pointing straight out, 2. Pointing down and 3. Off

Rock rails themselves are 11GA steel and body (not frame) mounted using three bolts under the tub and nine bolts along the pinch seam. The steps are made from the same 11GA, including a tubular bar and when installed, reduce vertical clearance under the doors from 21" to 19" at the rails' lowest points. Pointed down, the steps extend horizontally 3.5" from the rails' sides. Pointed straight out, they extend 4" from the sides and do not reduce vertical clearance.

So....given this is my first run and am looking to ease into this sport at a resonable [responsible?] pace, what is the consensus on which step position to use to protect the sides of the rig or and/or give maximum vertical clearance?

Thanks ahead of time.

mikep
Attachments
IMG_1207.jpg
2018 JL Unlimited Rubicon, 2.5" MC GameChanger, 37" Toyo MTs,
MC skids/rock rails, PowerTank CO2 air, front trail camera
and one wicked cool, push button retractable soft top
RandyCarol
BSJ Member
Jeep Year: 2013
Jeep Model: JK Wrangler

Re: Rocker steps on or off?

Unread post by RandyCarol »

Personally I would go strait out or up. Those things take a beating. Going out will keep the obstacle further away from your doors, mirrors and fenders. Some of these trails are tight, especially for a 4 door, and those trees can reach out and get ‘ya
Stubby antenna & Prorock 60’s
Lisah311
BSJ 101 Planning Commitee
Jeep Year: 2005
Jeep Model: TJ Wrangler

Unread post by Lisah311 »