Have to love the 4:1

You can talk about anything here
ChrisD
BSJ 101 Planning Commitee
Jeep Year: 2003
Jeep Model: TJ Wrangler

Have to love the 4:1

Unread post by ChrisD »

Finally got to go wheeling this weekend and had a blast. This was my first time out with my "NEW" Jeep and I say new, cause after the 4:1 it is nothing like the one I have been wheeling for the last 3 years. For most of the day, I honestly felt like I was driving an automatic due to the fact I rarely had to touch the clutch to manage my speed. And there is nothing like not needing to touch the skinny pedal when climbing a hill, due to your crawl rate. There was one area that was once referred to a camel back, however has been converted into a side to side "don't scrape the side of your jeep on the rocks" obstacle. I was the only one "not" on 35's and crawled thru it the rear bumper just slightly kissing a rock when exiting the obstacle, due to the fact I had so much more control b/c of my crawl rate.

The point I am trying to drive home is... the 4:1 is money well spent (something that I would invest in before ever thinking about a trailer cough cough... jeff)
Kurt
BSJ Member
Jeep Year: 1992
Jeep Model: YJ Wrangler

Re: Have to love the 4:1

Unread post by Kurt »

Great to hear you love it! :handgestures-thumbupright:

Another 4:1 convert :lol:
"Build It, Run It, Break It, Improve It, Repeat!"
NEA Treasurer 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
BSJ Treasurer 2020
Hoodoo Man
BSJ 101 Planning Commitee
Jeep Year: 1970
Jeep Model: C101

Unread post by Hoodoo Man »

Kurt wrote:Great to hear you love it! :handgestures-thumbupright:

Another 4:1 convert :lol:
Keep your eyes open for one for me ;)
nhdcoye
BSJ Member
Jeep Year: 1992
Jeep Model: YJ Wrangler

Unread post by nhdcoye »

Good to know 4:1 works well ..... I was considering the swap but I've had my share of wrenching for this year.
Staying with 33's and 4:10 I've got to know my skinny pedal very good :-) That's why I decided replace my clutch .